The Charles Bridge, crossing the Vltava (Moldau) is one of the town’s landmark. The laying of the foundation stone took place in 1357.
Only in 1870, the bridge got its current name, named after King Charles IV, who was in power when the bridge was built. Afore, the bridge was simply called Sand Bridge or Prague Bridge.
Until 1841 it was the only way to cross the river and therefore the only connection between the old town and the castle.
Due to heavy traffic and the subsequent degradation and damage, since 1978 the bridge is only accessible for pedestrian anymore. The positive side effect is a more relaxing experience when visiting the bridge.
Architecture & Art
The length of the bridge is approx. 520 meters, about 10 meters wide and made from sandstone.
Crossing the bridge, you pass 30 statues of saints and knights, which nowadays are only replicas of the original ones from 300 years ago. The original statues are now displayed at the National Museum of Prague.
Type of activities
Wheelchair AccessiblePopular / TouristicFor Solo TravelersFor CouplesFor Families